skip to Main Content

Helen P. Batty Awards

In 2005, the CFD established awards to recognize excellence in faculty development programming and teaching in the Faculty of Medicine (FoM), University of Toronto (UofT). Nominations are open to faculty members in the FoM, UofT.

Period is now closed

Helen P. Batty Awards for Excellence and Achievement in Faculty Development

Please note that the Helen Batty Award criteria and selection process is currently under review this academic year to enhance its alignment to the CFD’s principles and commitments to Anti-Oppression and Anti-Racism.  The award will not be available for the 2022-2023 academic year while this review is under way.  We look forward to sharing updates and receiving nominations for 2023-2024.  If you have any questions, please contact Latika Nirula ().

Thank you for considering submitting a nomination for the Helen P. Batty Awards! As part of your nomination package, please specify in which of the 3 categories the nominee should be considered. There will be a maximum of 2 awards given each year. Please note that this does not mean 2 awards will be given in each category but rather 2 awards given from across all 3 categories.

Faculty Development is a broad range of activities that institutions use to renew or assist faculty, supervisors, preceptors, field instructors, clinical educators, and status appointees in their roles. These activities are designed to help people succeed in and improve skills in teaching, education, administration, leadership, scholarship and advocacy.

If you have concerns about whether your nomination falls within the domain of Faculty Development, please do not hesitate to contact the Helen P. Batty Awards administrator for clarification and further information (see below).

The three categories are:

  • Sustained Excellence in Teaching as a Faculty Developer
  • Innovation in Program Development and Design
  • Sustained Contribution to the Field of Faculty Development

Please click here to download the full awards criteria.

Questions? Contact

Award Details

Nominations are now closed.

Criteria: Download full criteria and categories here

A maximum of 2 awards will be given each year over 3 categories

Share this Program

2021 Winners

2020 Winners

Risa Bordman and TeamExcellence in Innovation in Program Development and DesignFor the project: Supporting Faculty to Incorporate Virtual Supervision of Learners in Medical Care
Viola AntaoSustained Excellence in Teaching as a Faculty Developer
Latika NirulaSustained Excellence in Teaching as a Faculty Developer

2019 Winner

2018 Winners

Jana LazorSustained Contribution to the Field of Faculty Development
Rick PencinerSustained Excellence in Teaching as a Faculty Developer
Ivan SilverSustained Contribution to the Field of Faculty Development

Centre for Faculty Development
Li Ka Shing International Healthcare
Education Centre, St. Michael’s Hospital
209 Victoria Street, 4th floor

Mailing Address:
30 Bond Street, Toronto, ON, M5B 1W8


Are you trying to build community in virtual or in-person education spaces? Trying to figure out what is effective or what is hindering your process?

Join us on Feb 6 to discuss building community in these spaces!

*Open to CFD Members only
Register at:

Join us on February 1st at 1pm for "Decolonizing Healthcare Education" facilitated by Jeffrey Kiyoshk Ross and Beck McNeil.

To learn more and to register, please visit this link:


Subscribe to our newsletter to receive communications about our Centre.

Back To Top